A Prophet Considered

One question I received, in response from my blog post, was along these lines (I’m not directly quoting because I haven’t gotten this individual’s permission to share our conversation):

When Joseph Smith Jr. was Prophet it was published and spoken of often about seeing Christ, visions, angels etc. My question is: I assume that Thomas S. Monson has to have seen Christ in order to be an Apostle and Prophet, so why isn’t it shared? We claim to have modern revelation, so why isn’t there more revelation? We proudly proclaim we’re lead by a living Prophet, who speaks with God, so why aren’t those conversations with Him shared?

This question has been on my mind as well. Have I missed something? I don’t recall President Monson ever prophesying, giving revelation or even stating he has seen Christ. How can I, with full integrity and honesty, claim that I know him to be a prophet?

Jesus said, “By their fruits ye shall know them”. President Monson hasn’t revealed any new canonized scripture, so where could I find his fruits? General Conference.

President_Monson_Oct_2013_Sat_AM

President Monson has held The Office of President since February of 2008. That is: Six years of holding The Office of President; 11 General Conference Sessions; Fifty-five Conference Addresses; Eighty-eight thousand, nine-hundred and seventy-eight words. I read every single word. I needed to make sure I didn’t miss anything.

I composed a list of quotes that I found where President Monson may be giving clues as to whether or not he has seen Christ. I also included quotes of  where some may consider him giving revelation. (My commentary and questions are italicized in the document)

The talks are beautiful. The instruction is clearly inspirational and inspired. Every single talk gave one, if not several, anecdotal applications of the Gospel. President Monson is definitely a humble, faithful and dedicated follower of Christ.

Does that make him a Prophet, though?

I didn’t find anything in his addresses that, to me, appeared to meet the Savior’s test. Anecdotes are wonderful, but they aren’t prophetic. Time-tested advice and counsel is needed, but isn’t necessarily revelatory. A call to be clean, to repent — that is a mission of a prophet, to be sure, but doesn’t that make anyone who invites others to repent a prophet?

Don’t get me wrong, President Monson has every right to hold the office he holds and to lead this Church. That isn’t a question in my mind. We have sustained him. He then, by common consent, has authority to lead this Church. In that regard, and in The Office of President, I sustain him. As he said in October of 2012, “The office of the President of the Church is a demanding one.”He needs the prayers of the Saints.

“[After putting the motion for himself to be sustained as ‘Prophet, Seer, and Revelator,’ the President remarked:] I will say that I never dictated the latter part of that sentence. I will make the remark, because those words in that connection always made feel as though I am called more than I am deserving of. I am Brigham Young, an Apostle of Joseph Smith, and also of Jesus Christ. If I have been profitable to these people, I am glad of it. The brethren call me so; and if it be so, I am glad.” (The Complete Discourses of Brigham Young, Vol. 3, p. 1347.)

I feel this is the case with President Monson. He has dedicated over half his life to the service of the Church in the offices of Apostle and President. “If it be so” that he is a Prophet, Seer and Revelator, he is glad.

After everything I read, I am still left without an answer. I don’t know if President Monson has seen the Savior. I don’t know if when he testifies as a special witness of Christ he is referring to his office, (D&C 107:23) or as a literal witness. I don’t know that anything he has said can be considered revelatory or prophetic, but I am grateful for men like him who serve, despite feelings of inadequacy, with faithful perseverance.

I may not know, and may not currently believe, that he is a Prophet like unto Moses, Enoch, Isaiah, Joel or Joseph Smith Jr., but I know that he is a good man (Moroni 7:11). I will continue searching to find an answer to this question.


Leave a comment